Seamless Drawing/Handwrite Support

Cam L

Idea

I am new to Evernote, and am looking to figure out if I should switch to Evernote to contain all my notes, journaling pages, etc. The problem I have is I prefer handwriting, since I typically use lots of pictures, circuit diagrams, etc. And for any sort of studying, handwriting is proven to help you remember the information, so I'm very partial to it. 

Just curious if there are any plans to integrate handwriting into the platform, even in the distant future? I know of the sketch tool, but is there any plans to make handwriting work well like in OneNote? This is the one road block stopping me from fully switching to Evernote for everything instead of Notion for organizing journals and notes, notability for handwritten documents, etc. Is this feature in development, or is it too difficult to implement cleanly with the current Evernote system based on how the note files are built and saved as?

If the feature is even being considered, I may switch all my files from Notion to Evernote and just use notability for handwriting until the feature is added. 

3 replies to this idea

• Level 5

In EN itself there is the Sketch feature, which is properly named. It is for making a Sketch on a canvas - not really for handwriting. There is for iOS devices the Penultimate app by EN, designed for handwriting. Some like it - I think it is quite outdated. EN purchased the app years ago, and never really took it ahead.

Nobody knows what is in the making, but I doubt EN is pushing into better handwriting support.

Personally I use GoodNotes 5 for handwritten notes. When a topic is closed, I export it as a pdf, complete with search index, and import it into EN. There are other similar apps, like NoteShelf, Notability and Nebo. Each is a bit different - maybe give them a try and use the one you like best in features and handling.