Having trouble clipping a google doc, annotating it, and presenting it

Peter Shenkin

Newbie here. A search for "Google Docs Web Clipper" turned up over 700 threads, so I apologize in advance for not having read them all.

Anyway, I wanted to try a presentation based on a Google doc. What I want to do is:

1. Browse to a Google Doc I own
  2. Clip it with the Chrome Web Clipper
  3. Sync to the Mac App
  4. In the Mac App, annotate it
  5. Present it with annotations

Issues:

• I was having trouble getting it to do what I wanted, so a few times, after step 3 above and attempts at 4, I deleted the note in the app. Following this, new attempts to clip appeared to succeed, but the App wouldn't sync -- the doc no longer became available in the Mac App following a sync.
    • After closing and reopening the Mac App, multiple copies from the earlier tries showed up
    • This was kind of a bore, but not my main issue(s) 
  • Prior to attempts to annotate, I tried a presentation with the document as downloaded.
    • I tried the "spacebar" method of skipping to the next section of the doc
    • It's a multipage doc, with headers, images, etc. 
    • The spacebar took me halfway down the first page, but on repeated presses, no further.
    • Also a bore, but also not my main issue(s). I can always scroll.
  • Attempting to annotate, I could annotate the first page, but there was no way to scroll the doc down past the first page to continue annotating.
    • Thus, I could not do what I wanted at all.

Summary:

1. Sync failed.
  2. Presentation failed.
  3. Annotation failed.

All in all a disappointment. But if there are workarounds, I'd like to hear them.

Hi Peter,