(Archived) Mac + Firefox + Firefox extension = it clips just text

sgabello

I'm running across this problem... I've reinstalled the extension many times but it save nothing but text. It's not really useful if you can't save a complete web page with stylesheets and images. Is that a bug or I'm missing something?

Thanks

I'm using firefox's specific extension / addon not the bookmarklet. Are you saying that it's the right behavior in Firefox? Will it be fixed? I can't see the point in making a specific extension if it doesn't work properly. It's very annoying... I don't wanna switch to Safari... I love Firefox and I use a number of extensions / addons for my everyday work (I'm a web developer).

Are there plans to fix it? I saw that it has been updated quite often but I wonder why no-one has fixed fixed it yet.

Thanks for your help.

That actually *is* the proper behavior. It was designed that way.

Web pages have a lot of errant code that can cause Evernote to crash. Safari is built "in" the Leopard operating system, so we can get our hooks into that and our native clipper can more gracefully handle the clips. Firefox is not, so we strip out all the CSS. It *should* be getting your images, but not the styles.

Just let me understand... is it the proper behavior because you are not able to make it work properly or because you chose that? If the second is the right scenario, why not just leave to users the possibility to set it as they want?

Thanks!

• 1 month later...

You're seeing the right behavior... Firefox's clipper just grabs the text contained in the HTML and strips out the CSS. For some websites this renders them unreadable (when doing full page grabs). Which, for me, renders the Firefox clipper (and the bookmarklet as well) utterly useless.