A few suggestions...

I'm studying computer science and I have a strong passion for user experience/interface design. I haven't been the biggest fan of Evernote and I've realized that it comes down to a few pretty simple issues that I feel would enhance the usability of Evernote for many people, including myself. Don't get me wrong, I really appreciate what Evernote does and the quality/reliability. However, I would love to see it improve in the following 4 main ways (in order of importance in my opinion):

1.  Have a "Sort by" setting for each notebook so that it can be sorted by things like the date they were created/last edited (or user's chosen order).
2.  Have a quick and easy list entry (comparable to Google Keep)
3.  Change the reminders...I feel they should be a separate thing within evernote (possibly displayed on a calendar style layout) with a note attached to them (rather than the reminder attaching to the note). I would also like the option to have a recurring reminder.

4.  Allow for a larger hierarchy of notebooks for better organization beyond two layers (good for OCD people like myself)

A point of lesser importance:

I would also love to see one or more alternative layouts/color schemes available if possible...I feel this makes a big difference to potential users. Perhaps take some inspiration from EverMemo or Google Keep.