(Archived) iPad Air vs iPad Mini vs iPad Mini w/ Retina

Dan Tappin

I am new to Evernote and Penultimate.  I have a first gen iPad and plan to upgrade.  I plan to use my new iPad to take meeting notes etc. and possibly some sketches.  I am impressed with Penultimate already just using it on my current iPad and only my finger to test it out.

Can anyone comment or voice an opinion on using a Mini for taking notes?  I love the idea of the size of the mini but worried that it's too small to be practical.  I have also seen a comment that it's actually better for notes because it's so small.

I know there will be no right answer here just opinions :^)

Also does the Retina display gain you anything with Penultimate?

Considering the Jot Script but may hold off until the bugs are worked out.  Any recommendations for an economical starter stylus?

Thanks,

Dan

My opinion would be that the iPad Air is better for taking notes, the Mini as an ebook reader. I like a bit more space when taking notes. Personally, I own the iPad Air. It didn't even cross my mind to wait for the new Mini. I'm not sure that the retina display would make that much difference for note taking but I don't think I'd buy an iPad without out it at this point. If you haven't already, I'd suggest you go to your local Apple Store and play with both. 

The stylus I've been using for quite some time is the Adonit Jot Pro. I think it's $30 on Amazon. 

Best of luck.