Outline Format Options

ehu86

Idea

Can you guys incorporate more outline formats such as the alpha numeric style of outlining: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/544/03/

I'm a student who enjoys outlining my lecture notes and medical conditions in Microsoft OneNote.

I want to replace OneNote with Evernote because your tagging system is much better.

I'm currently using Microsoft OneNote because I can select a cleaner outline formats for note taking.

For Example:

I.

A.

B.

a.

b.

C.

D.

II.

A.

C.

Thank you!!

• Like 2

16 replies to this idea

For me this needs to include selective hiding of topics and levels, live MS Word has done for ever.  So for example, I can just show levels 1 and 2 at heading level, but expand one section that I'm working on to show the detail, and lower level text.

The reason it's so important is that you can see the overview of a big document, but dive into the detail as and when you need to.  As has been said so many times, we currently have to break down big or complex notes to multiple notes, which is a pretty poor workaround.

On 10/1/2017 at 11:24 PM, DTLow said:

For notes, outlining is a feature not currently offered by Evernote
For big documents, you might want to stick with Word, and attach the file to the note
In addition to outlining, Word offers many additional editing features

I hadn't realized it until now that I read your comment, that evernote is provided for "notes" and not for "documents".

From one point of view the two major differences between the two seems to be firstly the Headings/Ouline and secondly the Styles support.

Evernote can do so many things, including Tables handling, importing images and video files, add other files, but doesn't have any Headings/Outline support neither support styles.