Ingy

K-12 Evernote vs. OneNote

Our municipality/township is about to decide the what all our schools should use: PC or Chromebooks. The main argument for choosing PC and O365 is OneNote.

I’ve not used either OneNote or Evernote, but to me it looks like Evernote is far behind OneNote in many areas. Like for instance organizing your stuff colorcoded and OCR-extracting.

I was so happy about the announcement of Google Drive integration, but I can’t find the Evernote App in the Chromebook store so now I’m disappointed. And then I read this thread and became discouraged: https://discussion.evernote.com/topic/66103-alternatives-to-en-discussion

What are your experience with using OneNote and Evernote in K-12?

I have been using Evernote since 2011. Evernote lets you search in pictures for text. I have tried to switch to OneNote because the company I work for uses Office 365, but I find Evernote much more usable. The design of Evernote allows you to concentrate on the information you are taking. You can search across notebooks very easily. I have not tried to extra text from a pic (OCR-Extracting) because I can search within each of the pics that I add as well as PDF, Word, etc (with Premium). I also find that sharing notes and notebooks is much more convenient, the security setup on note / notebook level is clear and easy to manage.

Having used both Evernote and OneNote I find Evernote much more valuable and functional. Tagging is another part of Evernote that I think is setup very good. Tags are metadata in Evernote where in OneNote they are just text added to the note. With the use of Reminders, Checkboxes and Shortcuts you can create many different workflows to help through normal day.