Turn off syncing?

I'm a piano teacher and use Evernote to make assignment notes for my students, among other things. I do this in real time during lessons, making notes to myself as we go, and then putting the notes in a more understandable and helpful form when I finish teaching for the day. Each student has a notebook I've shared with them, so this works really well. Especially since I can insert recordings, videos, pdfs, etc. But too often, Evernote gets hung up syncing during lessons. I do not know why it does, but sometimes it will be syncing most of the time for 2 or 3 hours. During these times it is extremely slow, frequently freezing. I generally use it on my iPad during lessons, but when this problem occurs it affects the desktop version, as well. So I have to resort to jotting down notes in something else. This is more cumbersome, as my notes are not so well coordinated with the student or what they've been doing and I have to adjust formatting when I copy into Evernote or re-type them. But there seems to be no way to stop syncing. At least on the desktop version I can set a time between syncing, although that does not seem to have anything to do with this problem. On my iPad, though, all I could do, I guess, is turn off Wifi. But I use it while teaching. It's part of the benefit of using my iPad. Is there any way around this issue?

• Level 5*

The syncing shouldn't be causing a problem like that.

Regardless, you could always use another app then load it into Evernote afterwards.
I actually use the Notability app for most of my serious note taking.

• Level 5*
2 hours ago, kguess said:

Evernote gets hung up syncing during lessons. I do not know why it does, but sometimes it will be syncing most of the time for 2 or 3 hours. During these times it is extremely slow, frequently freezing.