(Archived) Scansnap OCR to pdf or let Evernote OCR it?

merk850

Idea

I have the new Scansnap S1300 and I am using it with the Scansnap Manager software on the Mac. My question is about using the supplied OCR software that came with the Fujitsu. Compared to the last 300m model this comes with ABBYY Fine Reader OCR. I am scanning with the Fujitsu software manager and it is going directly to Evernote. (cool!)

1) Should I run this OCR every time with each scan? It takes longer though because it is processing the OCR and then sending the OCR file to Evernote.

2) OR, should I just scan as PDF and send to Evernote and let Evernote process the OCR? (This is quicker)

3) What is the difference technically, do you think? Is Evernote running superior OCR? Will Evernote return that OCR'd PDF to my local client?

I do not mind paying the premium membership if this is somehow a better work flow.

I am just beginning my home scanning and I want to start the right work flow.

Thanks for any help!

Wayne

13 replies to this idea

If you don't mind waiting for your local PC to do the OCR, then you may find that it's more useful to let your own scanner do the OCR. Then you have local files that you can search from your hard drive if you wanted to use elsewhere, and you can select/copy/paste text directly from those PDFs.

Otherwise, you can upload them to Evernote, and if you have a Premium account, we'll process them within a few minutes. Then you can sync the results down to sync within Evernote.

Dave,

Thanks for the reply. A couple of follow ups:

Your recommendation to OCR locally says it will give a copy on my local drive to search and edit at will. However, my workflow is that I am using the Scansnap to scan "directly to Evernote". I guess that bypasses that step. What would be a recommended work flow? Do I scan to all different file structure folders first locally and then upload to Evernote? That seems like double the work.