Pencils? With Moleskine Evernote?

I'm used to using pencils instead of pens and I'm just beginning the moleskine notebooks for evernote. I suppose I will find out but I have taken to Blackwings (softer and darker lead)--I'm wondering if anyone else has tried this, I'd think it would be okay if they advertise the sketchbooks. They say "dark ink" so hopefully "dark lead" will work.

I don't see why not. The only concern with pencil (and probably more so with softer ones) is smearing. If you use your camera to photo scan you won't have a problem. On the other hand, using a scanner might cause some smearing. 

I'm used to using pencils instead of pens and I'm just beginning the moleskine notebooks for evernote. I suppose I will find out but I have taken to Blackwings (softer and darker lead)--I'm wondering if anyone else has tried this, I'd think it would be okay if they advertise the sketchbooks. They say "dark ink" so hopefully "dark lead" will work.

Pencils should work just fine as long as the writing is dark enough to be captured when taking a picture. A pen is recommend though, but if you press a bit harder with a pencil you should be good to go.  :)

• 1 month later...

Hi --

I was given a dotted moleskine "special" evernote sketchbook for xmas—have to say that while the notebook is just as good as any of my other moleskine notebooks, the service and software is completely underwhelming and frustrating.

I use Mirado Black Warrior pencils to sketch with -- it's an nice inexpensive pencil that works for me. A lot of my sketches have some shading in them as well.