Organising Evernote for Students

Yu Zhengwen

This is my first post, hope I've posted in the correct section.

So I've recently gotten into Evernote and its power

I am a student. I would like to use Evernote to organise both school and personal stuff.

For school, I have subjects like biology, physics, math, etc. Then I do some personal projects like programming and playing with my Raspberry PI, stuff like that.

I want to use Evernote to organise them. I did it with a notebook for school and personal then using tags to organise, but I want to have a consistent layout in my task management app, which is Wunderlist, I use it extensively already and most of my tasks are on there. However it only allows me to organise tasks into folders which contains lists and I am unable to replicate my setup in evernote. 

I would like to be able to find individual projects. (I have many History projects and would like to go to them easily..)

I also need a method to archive projects or at least organise the notes by year

Can someone give me a suggestion? Thanks

• Level 5*

Hi. Welcome to the forums. Here is one suggestion.

http://www.christopher-mayo.com/?p=1724

THanks for quick reply. But your link lacked several things I need: a method of archiving entire projects, keeping their hirarchy, and I have multiple projects WITHIN a class. Many of them requiring research, etc.

1. archiving:

"After the course has ended, I recommend you change student permissions to “view only,” and ask them to copy the notebook into their own accounts. Doing this will ensure that no members of the notebook inadvertently delete / modify anything in the future, and it will free you to archive the contents of the notebook somewhere in your own account. I have a screencast explaining how to copy notes out of a joined notebook."

2. hierarchy:

see step #2. the index note has an almost unlimited potential for sub-categories / hierarchies.

3. multiple projects: