(Mac) Recovering lost notes from the "clipper"/quick-note toolbar

Apologies if this was already discussed somewhere, but I can't seem to find it anywhere so here goes:

Just recently, my laptop's hard drive crashed, and I attempted to save my system files by copying over my Library to an external drive.

Attempting to restore my "current" Evernote onto my new drive (by pasting the old Library) worked out fine, however the long list of notes I had stored in the "quick-note"/clipper (on the toolbar) seems to have disappeared, and I don't know where I can recover it — actually, is there a way to recover what was written in the quick-note/clipper? Was there a backup made somewhere? I've located a file named "quick-note-preserved.obj", but I can't seem to open it with anything. Do I have to import it somewhere?

If it helps, I'm a macbook pro user, and the application was downloaded from the "app store" on this laptop.

Thanks for your help TT.TT Just any way to view the information will do....

• Like 1
  • 1 year later...

How did you go baka? I have the same problem after realising my quick-notes have not been saving to evernote for the last few months! I can see there are many .obj files on my local hard drive, but does anyone have any info about how to restore or view them? Thanks

• Like 1
  • 1 month later...
  • 2 years later...
  • 2 months later...

Yes @evernomeansno, I submitted my issue to technical support, and I heard back (it took a few days).

The support offered to convert it for me if I sent them my .obj file, but I opted to do it alone, so contact them if you prefer they do it.

Here is the summary of the steps to take, but bare in mind:

1) You need access to command line, on Mac, you could use Terminal for example. 

2) You need to have Xcode installed, which you can get from the App store (free, I believe).