Evernote update fails for ages

Hi there, i'm tired to see that annoyin error while trying to update for last year.

So I'll try to describe the steps I do clearly riggghht here:

1. Downloading newer version (5.8.5.7193)

2. Running it (as admin for sure theres no any AV software)

3. Extracting process goes fine

4. Preparation process goes fine

5. BAH suddenly I'm receiving a message like "file is not accessible" and path to c:\temp\ (which is empty and btw my temp folder is on d:\temp, does evernote fails to get system PATH variable for that somewhere in the process HARDCODED<Sigh> maybe?) with open dialog for Evernote.msi. At this moment I can clearly see newly created Evernote.msi on my d:\temp\ but evernote didin't accepts it, I tried, bwah I tried that hardly but with no luck...

6. There is nothing I could do with that (selecting any evernote.msi files doesnt works either)

7. ???

8. Why It's a challenge to get evernote updated? I'd like to say that I'm a java developer with like above avg. computer skills coming from the years xx80, but I can't see the reason it could fail and I'm tired to see it fails.. I could do update if I totally remove evernote and install it again, but wth.

• Level 5*

Hi.  Sorry for the problems.  Is your current copy of Evernote syncing OK?  Can you see all your current notes via a desktop browser and https://www.evernote.com/Login.action?targetUrl=%2FHome.action ?

There have been a few upgrades in performance,  including the update process over the past year,  so manually fixing this one may resolve your problem for the future - but it looks like you need to go the uninstall/ reinstall route this once at least to get back on track.

Sorry for teaching granny,  but do backup your database folder just in case (temporarily copying it to the desktop works for me).  Uninstall/ reinstall is normally quick,  painless and resets a lot of small detail that might have gone astray over time.