Search for texts in documents attached to Notes

Rev.Bob Smith

Dear Friends:

I am a graduate school librarian with substantial research interests. I've begun to scan texts to put in Evernote Premium. I create a note in the Windows 7 app, give it a title related to the source, drag-and-drop the file into the note and then synchronize it. When I search for text within the attached docs, however, it doesn't seem to find the text. How do I get it to work?

Hi Bob,

What documents are you popping into Evernote? PDFs? How long of an interval are you waiting before you try to search your documents? Remember that it may take more than a couple of minutes, because Evernote needs to index and OCR your documents to recognize words within images, which is what your scanned documents are.

Also, how are you searching? Are you using the Ctrl + F keyboard shortcut on desktop or the search within a note icon on mobile? That will not yield any results. Your search needs to be from within the Evernote search bar. More about isolating notes (and the attached documents) to search for text within them/ test the searchability later once we have more specifics :-)

Thanks for the reply, Frank! I'm using the search box with the greyed out text: search all notes which is in the upper right corner. I am using mostly PDFs and have already OCRed them in Adobe Acrobat Professional. It has been at least a day since they were added to Evernote notes.

To check if note attachments have been indexed, hit the Information icon in the note panel toolbar above an individual note (in between the presentation mode icon and the Work Chat icon). The last item should give you your attachment status.

If the note has not been indexed, you can force it to index by holding down Ctrl and hitting the help menu in the uppermost toolbar... and then "Fix Current note". See if that works.