Evernote Business Doesn't Allow Public Notebook Links

War Eagle

Idea

I have to confess I'm very confused as to why the new release (6.0.2) doesn't allow for creating a public link to a BUSINESS notebook?

I see that they had initially removed the ability to create a public link for a PERSONAL notebook and then amid a hue and cry from disgruntled users, they decided to restore that function. However, it is IMPOSSIBLE (as far as I can tell!) to create a public link to a BUSINESS notebook. This makes no sense. Why on EARTH would the ability to create a public link to a BUSINESS notebook be less important than a public link from a personal notebook?

Let's say I'm a business person who writes articles and I want to create a single repository for my clients and colleagues to read those articles. I'd create a public link from a BUSINESS notebook. 

Or perhaps I'm a teacher and I want to share information with my students and have THEM be able to share it with their fellow students or teachers. I'd create a public link from a BUSINESS notebook. 

Or perhaps I'm a chef and I do local cooking classes and in those classed I pass out a flyer that says, "For more recipes and images of my food, just check out my Recipes Notebook!" I'd create a public link from a BUSINESS notebook. 

As a business person, I want to share information pertaining to BUSINESS in a BUSINESS notebook. I don't want to commingle business and personal notebooks. It renders the concept of "personal" and "business" notebooks moot. If I have to commingle notebooks simply because I can only publicly share ONE type of notebook, then why even have business and personal notebooks?  

AGAIN I ASK, do the EN developers actually USE the product themselves or even care how their paying customers use it? 

10 replies to this idea

I have the same basic concern - I have a series of curated articles that I want to share with my clients via a link to a specific notebook - why am I not able to do this?