...dissertation research notes and GTD - do i need separate instances?

Hi

i am new to EN

i am using EN for capturing and storing all my research data for my master's thesis.

i expect that there will be hundreds of notes and a large number of tags - maybe 50 to 100

i would also like to set up GTD in EN

i'm worried that if i set up GTD in the same instance of EN that i use for my research project, the space could be become cluttered and unwieldy.

what is the best way for me to manage this?

if i keep everything in one instance - how should i set it up?

if you suggest two instances, how do i create the second instance?

thank you so much for your help

-Ethan

• Level 5*

Start with one account, and see if you can do both things (I'll bet that you can). If it turns out that you cannot, then it's not hard to open up a new account (you need a separate email for this), and move one or the other set of notes to it. I'm not an expert on GTD, but I understand that at least some of the Evernote GTD'ers use specific tags, and tags are one way to organize your research notes (p.s. 50-100 tags is not a lot). At a minimum, you would probably want to keep your thesis notes in a separate notebook, as that's easier to isolate on.

• Level 5*

I would agree with Jeff, start with a single account.  

In addition, I am a proponent of keeping all data in a single instance of EN.  There are use cases where multiple accounts and shared notebooks are the way to go.  But if you are just starting, there is a whole lot less complexity with a single instance.of EN using tags, notebooks and saved searches to manage the data as best works for you.  Particularly if some of your thesis notes find their way into your GTD process.  And when you add other "stuff" to EN having that under one roof will be beneficial.