Question about sync behavior

I have been using Evernote for work notes for a couple of years, and have recently expanded my use to include task management (GTD) and Evernote Food.  

However, one thing that has bugged me for a while is the sync behavior.  I frequently switch back and forth between my home computer, work laptop and phone.  It's quite common for me to add a task for example on the laptop, close it up, then expect to see it when I check my home machine.  However, it's my experience that I need to press the sync button on the laptop if I want any changes to show up.

I can understand why they designed the app to sync asynchronously and to batch large changes, but I don't see why small changes (e.g. editing text or adding a note) shouldn't be synchronized in near real time.  Couldn't there be a velocity index to allow small changes to sync quickly while gating large changes?

Thanks to the team for an awesome product.

• Level 5*

I don't think they are batching large changes, but instead they sync on time intervals (see Tools -> Options -> Sync).  In reviewing some of the forum posts I think I've seen that the EN team have been experimenting with instant sync in the Mac beta but for now have gone back to the time interval sync.  Until they get it working and rolled out your safest approach, as you have discovered, is to always manually sync when you start the app on a new device and then sync again when you close it. 

Thanks for the pointer to the sync interval - I've lowered mine down to 15 minutes.  My point about batching large changes was simply that they are treating all changes the same (batching them in time intervals), whereas I think large changes could be handled differently from small ones. I understand the need to conserve resources on their side, but having near-instant sync for smaller changes would be a welcome addition. 

I lowered my sync intervall to the lowest setting (5 minutes) but still I end up with conflicts with documents.