How to make nested tags show their parent tag

Olivia V.

How can i make nested tags appear in their parent folder?  

e.g. Susie and John are professors at the Tokyo campus, so their names are nested under Tokyo faculty.  

when i tag Susie's travel itinerary and John's travel itinerary with their respective names and the "travel" tag, id like to be able to go into the Tokyo faculty folder and search by tag "travel" in order to see the itineraries of all Tokyo professors

Is this impossible without double-tagging?

Please advise - I'm very new to Evernote!

• Level 5

Tags do not have a hierarchy (apart from aesthetic display).  You'll find much discussion in the forums.

But you can create your own with tags.

See a couple of examples:

• Level 5*

Tags do not have a hierarchy (apart from aesthetic display).  You'll find much discussion in the forums.

But you can create your own with tags.

This is confusing and contradictory.

Tags *do* have a hierarchy.  It is just that the hierarchy does NOT apply to Note selection or search.

It's main purpose is to organize Tags.  But some people have use it to organize section, subsections of a document/book. 

Here is a screen shot from EN Mac 5.5.2 of a small Tag Hierarchy:

Tag-Hierarchy.gif

• Level 5*

Semantic hierarchy? No.

Aesthetic (i.e. non-functional) hierarchy? Yes.

e.g. Susie and John are professors at the Tokyo campus, so their names are nested under Tokyo faculty.  

when i tag Susie's travel itinerary and John's travel itinerary with their respective names and the "travel" tag, id like to be able to go into the Tokyo faculty folder and search by tag "travel" in order to see the itineraries of all Tokyo professors