RESOLVED: How to Fix Slow Startup/Exit of Evernote on Win7

Alan Rew

I've been using Evernote Premium for a couple of years, mostly without issues, until recently on Windows 7.

I couldn't find an official 'bug submission' route on the Evenote website.

Currently using

5.6.4.4632 (272632) Public

on

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

as well as

Windows XP Pro SP3 32-bit

On Win XP it starts quickly and quits quickly.

On Win 7 it takes a long time to start and to exit. Even after a manual sync, it takes ages to exit.

This is a pain, as I want to completely close Evernote before hibernating/suspending my PC, for security reasons.

Is this a known issue? Couldn't find it on this forum.

Thanks in anticipation for any advice.

• Level 5*

The difference may be that you have 'sync before exit' checked in Tools > Options > Sync;  Evernote will wait until it has saved any changes online before quitting,  and depending on the traffic on your system (and theirs) it could take a while.  Provided you don't use another device to change those notes in the meantime there's no major reason not to untick the box...

• Level 5*

I've been using Evernote Premium for a couple of years, mostly without issues, until recently on Windows 7.

I couldn't find an official 'bug submission' route on the Evenote website.

Currently using

on

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

as well as

Windows XP Pro SP3 32-bit

On Win XP it starts quickly and quits quickly.

On Win 7 it takes a long time to start and to exit. Even after a manual sync, it takes ages to exit.

This is a pain, as I want to completely close Evernote before hibernating/suspending my PC, for security reasons.

Is this a known issue? Couldn't find it on this forum.

Thanks in anticipation for any advice.

Having set (checked) the "sync before exit" will not affect startup, and as you stated that it takes a long time to exit even after a manual sync, so I'm thinking there is something else causing the problem.