Assigning tags by highlighting multiple notes does not always work now

jschnur

Sometimes, when I highlight multiple notes to assign tags to all of them at once, the option to add a tag isn't presented. I haven't noticed a particular pattern for groups of notes that present this error.  Some groups do, but most groups don't.

• Level 5

Are you trying to assign existing tags or create new tags.

I tried to duplicate both types with a group of notes, but could not duplicate your problem.

I have been using Evernote Windows for 6 years (30,000 notes with 1,400 tags) and have not run into this problem.

If all the notes in the group are already tagged with the tag you want, you can't use the tag again.

Are you trying to assign existing tags or create new tags.

I tried to duplicate both types with a group of notes, but could not duplicate your problem.

I have been using Evernote Windows for 6 years (30,000 notes with 1,400 tags) and have not run into this problem.

If all the notes in the group are already tagged with the tag you want, you can't use the tag again.

Granted, I've only been using Evernote for Windows virtually everyday since September 2005 (Ver. 2.0), but I do know what I'm talking about.  There was never this problem before, but now there is.  And the note grouping can't "know" the tag I want because the system offers no opportunity to assign a tag -- whether a new or existing one -- in the few note pairings with which I noticed the problem.

• Level 5*

Are you trying to tag non-editable notes that are shared to you? When I try this, I see in the multi-select panel that the tags control is replaced with greyed-out "Cannot add tags".

Are you trying to tag non-editable notes that are shared to you? When I try this, I see in the multi-select panel that the tags control is replaced with greyed-out "Cannot add tags".

No.  I have no shared notes.  But thanks.

• Level 5*