Saving Memory with Evernote

Another_Ian

Idea

Hello --

I have Evernote Premium, and have the client software installed on my Mac.  Does anybody know if the documents that I put on Evernote use up storage on my Mac?  I have obtined this script from veritrope (link takes you to the page where script can be obtained and explained), and so my scans go directly into a folder with a folder-action that sends the scans to Evernote.  It seems to work because the documents do indeed show up there.  When I then delete the scans from the folder (the one on my computer with the "folder action"), the document can still be accessed from my Evernote client, as desired.

However, I am new to this, so I'm not sure where my Evernote client program is "looking" in order to display the document to me.  Is it still stored on my machine?  I don't want it to be, because I want to save storage space on my machine.  (I understand the necessity of back-ups, etc. but am planning on using a different solution for that, which I am still exploring.).

Thank you!

5 replies to this idea

Welcome to the Forum!

I too use that script tool.  Veritrope is a great site.

Once the documents are imported into Evernote, they are placed in an Evernote database on your computer. (You can sync to their server as well)  So, you can delete the file as you have been from the Import Folder.  Now, about the Evernote Database.  It is stored here:  Library>Application Support>Evernote

I have over 1200 Notes with hundreds of PDF files, audio & photos, etc.  My EN database is only 2 gb in size.  So, by using EN on your device you are not using an elaborate amount of space.