Suggestions for todo and done (diary) tools

I've been using Evernote for a couple of years now, but I've got a new project coming up where I'm going to need pretty thorough tools for

-making ToDo lists

-making tasks done lists (diary)

Any suggestions?

Hmmm well I have never been terribly keen on Evernote for list making/todo management actually, although I know many users do have success with this. 

I generally keep content in Evernote, and I use Wunderlist for to-dos. I use evernote note links like crazy to tie those Wunderlist to-dos to the content stored in evernote. 

Now, this is not to suggest that Wunderlist in particular is the solution, but I find note links allow me to use some other tool more suited to to-doing. 

If, however, you chose Wunderlist, you could create a tasks-done diary by selecting all the tasks you have completed and printing those selected tasks to a PDF into Evernote. 

No real experience with Zendone, and I am not a subscriber to the GTD method so no advice there. My short time with Zendone suggests that there is a bit of a learning curve which may be prohibitive if you need to jump into something quickly. 

All of this to say - I am always doubtful of the effectiveness of Evernote as a to-do manager, but note links make using other software a breeze. 

Thanks, Scott. I'm curious, how do you link to your Evernotes? Do you click the "share" button in Evernote, or something else?

(I'm wondering about the unsecure nature of a shared link).

I use evernote:/// links, or what are now called "classic note links". These go into my calendar or Wunderlist depending on what I'm doing.

These also work in instances where a todo or calendar event is shared with my partner. Either of us can paste evernote:/// links to a note in a shared notebook and the other can open it just fine (since the note is in a notebook we share between us).

Evernote:/// links aren't public links so no security issue there. 

• 9 months later...