(Archived) Evernote for Confidential or Sensitive Data (HIPAA, FERPA, etc.)

I would like to expand on this topic, if possible. I can move this to its own topic, if necessary.

I am a therapist. I would like to use Evernote to maintain my session notes/journal entries for my clients. I can see that I can encrypt specific text within a note. However, I'd like to be able to add a second level of password (other than my app password) to that section of notes. Or somehow make it separate and somewhat protected. 

Do you have suggestions on how to go about doing that? Are there any therapists or others dealing in confidential information that use Evernote for this purpose?

Thanks!

Paula

• Level 5*
On 2/25/2014 at 7:37 AM, Paula P said:

I would like to expand on this topic, if possible. I can move this to its own topic, if necessary.

I am a therapist. I would like to use Evernote to maintain my session notes/journal entries for my clients. I can see that I can encrypt specific text within a note. However, I'd like to be able to add a second level of password (other than my app password) to that section of notes. Or somehow make it separate and somewhat protected. 

Do you have suggestions on how to go about doing that? Are there any therapists or others dealing in confidential information that use Evernote for this purpose?

Thanks!

Paula

If you are a professional/certified therapist, I suspect you would be running afoul of HIPAA by syncing confidential / sensitive information about your clients to Evernote and I would strongly advise against it. Evernote is not HIPAA compliant and they are quite clear about this (see the link below). I don't know enough to speak to say more about HIPAA. I would recommend you talk with colleagues and perhaps legal counsel to make sure the procedures you use to handle patient data are HIPAA compliant.