Setting up tags so you can browse notes?

• Level 5*

I'm new to Evernote and I understand that EN is great for collecting and retrieving notes. It seems like it can also be great for browsing notes if the user sets things up properly.

In this video (starting at 1:15), the user describes a tagging system that allows him to browse his notes (as opposed to executing a search). Is this the preferred method of setting up a tag hierarchy that permits efficient notes browsing? Are there other setups that people prefer?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tubLiL1CJz8

I'm new to Evernote and I understand that EN is great for collecting and retrieving notes. It seems like it can also be great for browsing notes if the user sets things up properly.

In this video (starting at 1:15), the user describes a tagging system that allows him to browse his notes (as opposed to executing a search). Is this the preferred method of setting up a tag hierarchy that permits efficient notes browsing? Are there other setups that people prefer?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tubLiL1CJz8

I skipped to 1:15 & watched for a couple of minutes. But I found this video confusing b/c the person kept switching between "generic" terminology & Evernote terminology & most often used non-Evernote terminology. IE, there are no FILING CABINETS, FOLDERS or SUB FOLDERS in Evernote. (There are STACKS & NOTEBOOKS.) But I think I get the gist of what he was trying to convey. Additionally, pretty much every time you want to retrieve info from Evernote, it requires a "search". But searches can be based upon a variety and a combination of meta data. IOW, if I have 62 notes tagged with "kidney diet", I can quickly find those 62 notes (out of thousands) by selecting all notes & the tag "kidney diet".

With Evernote's stacks, notebooks, tags, descriptive titles & keywords, it's pretty easy to find what you need out of thousands of notes & utilizing EN's search engine.