(Archived) Really nervous about Evernote...

Hello all,

I've been using Evernote for a couple of years now, and suddenly I realized that most, if not all, of my digital life is in there. I mean, that's why this thing was created, right? And it works brilliantly well, with great convenience and easiness of access, and the Premium account worths every penny.  

And that's why I'm really really nervous about it. My Evernote library is HUGE, with thousands of documents, notes and photos. I have some measures in place to prevent data loss (like a hard drive backup, cloud storage for photos), but still, there's  a couple of things that are really getting to my nerves:

1. The reliability of the service. I mean, how easy is it to recover from a catastrophic failure? Say the servers implode, my hard disk burns and I can't find a copy of the app anymore, and all I have is a bunch of .enex files in my backup. Is it readable somehow without the main app? Actually, where is the Evernote library anyway?

2. How big can an account be? I'm estimating about 15Gb of my stuff already in there (since I can't find the library folder), and I just keep throwing things at it. Does it have a maximum size? Or just individual files limit?

3. I really dislike the way it seems to treat photos. It looks like the EXIF data is stripped away when a photo is added to the library, since every picture I shared doesn't show any of that info. Is that correct?

Don't get me wrong: I really really love this service. But I'm afraid of trusting it way too much and regretting later.

• Level 5*