(Actual) PDF highlighting in Evernote

tedsvo

I'm a big, big fan of Evernote, and as a student I recommend it highly to my colleagues and professors. However, the one thing that I never have a good answer for is: "What about highlighting papers on my iPad?" When they ask this, they are referring to Preview/Adobe Reader/GoodReader/Readdle-style highlighting, wherein you're dealing with an OCRed document and highlighting actual text, as opposed to drawing a translucent line on top of document text. This, as far as I know, is impossible in Evernote - please correct me if I'm wrong.

Dropbox allows this sort of highlighting from third parties in two ways:

1. Their API lets people download and upload files

2. I can use the official Dropbox app to open a PDF in one of the aforementioned apps, and when I open it back into Dropbox it asks if I want to replace the existing file.

It seems that #1 is not possible with Evernote's current API (PDFPen kind of does it, but very poorly), and I suspect this isn't a priority for Evernote seeing as it how it isn't an actual file manager. But why not #2? Is there a reason I can't use "Open in..." to do a roundtrip of a PDF embedded in a note so that I can highlight in a third party app and replace the original file in the note?

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated, particularly if there's currently a way to do this on iOS that I'm not aware of.

Teddy

• Evernote Expert

I didn't understand what you said clearly. So, correct me, if I am wrong.

PDF annotation in IOS, you can open in Skitch , do your annotations, and save it in a new note. At the moment, you cannot overwrite the annotation in an existing document.

But generally speaking, Evernote is not best suited for annotations, because unlike text, which is a core part of the note, PDF only sits as an attachment. Evernote is not best suited for constant attachments, especially on mobile devices.