(Archived) OCR labeling to make it easily searchable later

Hi..

I'm a teacher and I want to track student work by taking photos of it, then later be able to search for the their work again. I'm thinking that I could stick a 'label' (with a unique code for each student) on each of page of work they turn in to make searching easier later on. 

So for example.. the students have all just finished taking a test. I tell them to place their label on each page of their work. They turn the documents into me. I take a photo of each page. I upload to Evernote on all one note (to make the process faster) and I'll name the note something like "Test 001".

I'll then download all the images to my computer (using 'export attachments'), batch convert to PDF (so I can edit them using GoodReader), then place all the PDFs back on Evernote. Now when I want to search for work related to a certain student, I just type in their 'code' and all their work should pop up.

I'm just curious if anyone had any thoughts on that workflow? 

Also, in terms of creating a unique code for each student, any recommendations? (ie. avoid using dashes .. A1-001John, etc.)

The bottom line: I want to track their work using images converted to PDFs, and I don't want to have to 'type any text' and still be able to find their work. (BTW, the label is because I'll be dealing with young students who may not always write their name clearly. Also, they might not write it dark enough for Evernote with their pencils.)

Thanks.

• Level 5*

Well, I would start by buying a good scanner (like ScanSnap) to scan each document directly into Evernote as a PDF.  One Note per student document.

If you apply a printed label on the first page of each document, you will be able to find the note/document by searching for the text of this label.

As you bring up each note/document to review, you can easily change the Note Title, and ADD tags to identify the student, subject, doc type, etc.