(Archived) A developer's suggestion: switch completely from ENML to HTML

I'm a developer myself. From an engineering perspective, I think the next major release of EN should ditch ENML and use HTML as internal storage instead.

Main benefits:

I understand that ENML gives EN more control and perhaps better structured internally. But the development team would spend too much time re-inventing the wheel, and the users have to suffer from some major bugs left unfixed and the limited features.

In the long run, it would be beneficial to EN as a business to adopt open standard such as HTML rather than sticking to a proprietary ENML.

• Level 5*

Don't you still need to encode Evernote-specific content in the note? You can do this with XML, since you can create your own tags (ENML is a subset of XML, not HTML). Can you do it with HTML (maybe HTML 5)?? 

Aren't there API users who depend on ENML being the Evernote note format?

BTW, I don't believe that this will happen any time soon, as that would entail changing all of the notes everywhere that are already encoded in ENML, and that also requires a perfect process for converting ENML to <whatever>ML. Just doesn't seem feasible to me.

• Level 5*

I don't see how changing to HTML would be an improvement. After working with XHTML, I don't think I'd be willing to go back myself, and I certainly wouldn't if I had an app used by 60M+ users around the world. The change could be catastrophic. Is there currently a problem exporting as HTML?

I have a lot of frustration regarding the "bulletin items" issue mentioned above. I suppose any decent HTML editor would handle it correctly due to many years of development/bug-fixing. Such problems arise because I suppose the development team has to develop the ENML editor from ground up.

• Level 5*

A lot of ENML *is* HTML, or more properly XHTML: http://dev.evernote.com/start/core/enml.php