(Archived) Web clipper gets progressively worse

ahilborne

[[ Note: I've been using Evernote in various ways for over 4 years. I've got more than 3,500 notes. I like it. ]]

The web clipper is surely still the heart of EN, yet it's getting progressively harder to use. One of the principal joys of using EN is the "see it, clip it, forget it for now" cycle. It helps stop information overload, it reduces filing time (and hence requires less brain work to save information) and, typically, EN will help you find the information when you next want it, if you ever do.

The Windows client had a great clipper. It would do the clipping in the background, then it would pop up an information window (the New Clip dialog) which had just the right user interface for editing the title, maybe adding some tags and then sending the clip away. I used to use the keyboard a lot for this and I would typically type something like:

A title<TAB>initial string for a tag<RETURN>another tag string<RETURN><TAB><RETURN>

.. and that was it. Absolutely wonderful. I could close the web page after I had taken the note and get on with the next thing. Sadly, a few versions ago, the pop-up UI for the Windows client clipper stopped working. I tried to explain the problem to EN support, but got nowhere. So I reluctantly switched to the Javascript web clipper. This already has two problems: it takes too long to start up, and I have to sync manually if I am to manage the resulting note in the Windows client within the next 10 minutes. But the real problem is a subtle change in the UI which makes using the keyboard much harder. It's still possible to tab between fields and into the tags, but typing an initial string for a tab, followed by a return, creates a new (unanted!) tag! This is a disaster. It's also not how EN used to do it and it's not, if you want another counter-example, how Google does it for its tag creation. For the record, it's what the EN iOS client also does, and it's broken there too.