(Archived) Tag Hierarchy

A Plus Innovations

Hello,

I just started using Evernote for keeping track of things.  It is almost exactly what I was looking for.  The only thing I don't like is how tag hierarchy behaves.  It seems logical to me that selecting a tag would show all notes containing that tag or any of its child tags.  I have read a few of the threads about this issue and it looks like no changes have been made.  I couldn't find a place to make a formal feature request, so consider this my feature request with a few ideas on how to implement it.

I am a programmer so I know how easy this would be to implement code-wise (I understand they are a large company and I'm sure it's not a piece of cake to make consistent changes across all platforms).  The search functionality is actually already there so it would just be a change in the search produced when a tag is clicked.

I made the following tag hierarchy:

>Level 1

>Level 2

Level 3

I added 4 notes:

"Just Level 1"  tagged (Level 1)

"Just Level 2"  tagged (Level 2)

"Just Level 3"  tagged (Level 3)

"All Levels"      tagged (Level 1, Level 2, Level 3)

Clicking any of the level tags results in only showing 2 notes -- the one tagged only with that level and the one tagged with all levels.

If I click Level 1, then hold Ctrl while clicking Level 2 and Level 3, it will default to showing any notes that are tagged with ALL of those 3 tags (1 note found).  Clicking the little down arrow next to the search bar reveals the search that was performed.  If I click the pull-down menu to the right of "matching" and change it from "All" to "Any", that produces the results I would expect from simply clicking Level 1 (4 notes found).  I would expect clicking Level 2 to show notes that are tagged Level 2 or Level 3.