Using Evernote to open text documents with different extension example .m files

Hello,

I am new to Evernote and was trying to add a text document to a new note. When I did this the text document was interpreted as an attachment. The file type is .m however it opens just fine in notepad and is only that format for use with MATLAB. Is there any way to adjust Evernote's settings so that it interprets .m files as text files and opens them in the window within the program for search purposes. Ideally I would like to retain the documents current file extension.

Thanks in advance for the advice

Best,

AJ

• Level 5*

Hi. Welcome to the forums.

I apologize if I am getting this wrong, but it sounds like you want to use Everntoe to open a file. Actually, it is best to think about Evernote as a place to put your data. If you want to put it into Evernote, but not as an attachment, then you will have to do something to it during the process. You could, of course, copy/paste into Evernote. If it is one file, then this is the way to go. If it is more than one file, then you may just want to batch convert them to .txt. Make sure the encoding is UTF-8. The converted files could be put into a temporary folder and then deleted when you are done. This would leave you with the original .m files on your hard drive, and the content of the files in Evernote (Evernote uses a forked version of XHTML, so they would be in a format kind of like an editable webpage). What this means is that it may be difficult to go back and forth between .m and Evernote. Evernote isn't set up to do anything like that.

How were you wanting to make use of Evernote?

• Level 5*

If this is Windows, then the .m is probably recognized by default as a MATLAB file because Windows recognizes it as a MATLAB file. Generally, though, you can right-click on the attachment (rather than double-clicking on it) and use "Open With..." to select the program that you want to edit with.

Thanks for the advice,