Newbie have question about Notebooks and subfolders

Davidlw

I am fairly new to Evernote and I have watched videos on HOW TO use Evernote and it have seen what appears to be subfolders/notebooks. I have tried to make a subfolder of a Notebook but Evernote just makes a new Notebook and not a sub Notebook/folder. If I want to have a main folder such as Home Repairs then have subfolders say expenses, labor, etc. How do I make one of these sub folders of the main folder?

@Davidlw,

You have to create a Notebook Stack first and then move the desired Notebook(s) into the Stack. A Notebook Stack is a grouping entity that does not hold any notes of its own. It only exists to group Notebooks. You can't turn a Notebook into a stack. In the Windows client you right-click on a Notebook that you want to stack. From the pop-up menu you select an existing stack to add the Notebook to, or choose Add New Stack to create a new Notebook Stack. If you choose Add New Stack, you will see a new Notebook Stack created with the default name for a new stack, with the Notebook you right-clicked on as it's first member. Then you can rename the new stack to whatever you choose.

-- roschler

• Level 5*

To amplify what roschler said:

[in the following, note that Evernote clients for different OS's can have different UIs. I use Evernote for WIndows, so that's the UI I will use for my examples]

• In Evernote, there are notes, notebooks, stacks, and tags. There are no folders, though notebooks and stacks have some folder-like properties. In the Windows client, stacks and notebooks are organized in the notebook panel, and tags are organized in the tag panel. Notes appear in an abbreviated form in the note list, which can be viewed as snippets, thumbnails or as a list of note attributes (snippet view, thumbnail view, and list view, respectively).
  • A notebook is a collection of notes; a notebook may not contain other notebooks or stacks.