"No Technology Policy" in Class

MC_Otter

I don't know about everyone else, but I hate when professors tell me that they have a "no technology policy" in their classes. Of course, I have 3 this semester. So rather than having all of my notes and handouts already in Evernote, I take my notes by hand and then immediately scan them in when I finish the day. Not ideal, but still works.

Does anyone else have these kinds of classes at their schools? How do you like to handle them?

• Level 5*

I don't know about everyone else, but I hate when professors tell me that they have a "no technology policy" in their classes. Of course, I have 3 this semester. So rather than having all of my notes and handouts already in Evernote, I take my notes by hand and then immediately scan them in when I finish the day. Not ideal, but still works.

Does anyone else have these kinds of classes at their schools? How do you like to handle them?

Hi. As an instructor, I've contemplated instituting such a policy, but in the end, for various reasons, I have not. Other instructors at my university, though, do have this policy. If I were taking their classes, I'd use the new Moleskine + Evernote combination. Handwriting + scanning is nice, though. I use the iPad for handwriting myself, but paper or iPad, it isn't a big difference. Just an extra step + paper waste.

Hi. As an instructor, I've contemplated instituting such a policy, but in the end, for various reasons, I have not. Other instructors at my university, though, do have this policy. If I were taking their classes, I'd use the new Moleskine + Evernote combination. Handwriting + scanning is nice, though. I use the iPad for handwriting myself, but paper or iPad, it isn't a big difference. Just an extra step + paper waste.

I was definitely excited to get the Moleskine at ETC and will be using that for one of my classes. I have also used my iPad for handwriting. Paper is always my last resort for classes that I have no other choice in.