(Archived) Evernote Freezes When Saving Data

BigMcGuire

Idea

Evernote 3.3 from Mac App Store

Macbook Air 2011 128GB SSD (101GB free) OS X Mountain Lion

On a Verizon FIOS WiFi connection

Basically, say I am in a notebook with 2 notes.. I edit the text in one note, then click on the other note, Evernote hangs for a good 20+ seconds giving me the spinning beachball. It doesn't matter if I'm full screen or not - same thing. There is no significant CPU or disk activity during this Evernote freeze. After the freeze is over, everything works - until I change data in a note, then try to move to another note - then there is another "hang."

I've uninstalled, reinstalled, and tried a number of things (restarting, etc...). No effect for now.

I'm a software developer so if I can help in any way let me know. This doesn't happen on my Windows boxes. :(

Thanks!

-Paul

39 replies to this idea

• Level 5

We definitely care about our users! Even you Mr. Mcguire! We read the forums regularly and try to address problems as best we can. A lot of app developers (not just EN) have been seeing ML/Sandboxing related issues and we working diligently to fix them. Hopefully, you'll come check us out with the next update!

• Level 5

If you are willing (and have no unsynced notebooks), try using our direct download version by following these steps:

1. Close Evernote

2. Close Evernote's toolbar helper (elephant in the toolbar)

3. Trash Evernote's app

4. Install the app from here: http://evernote.com/evernote/index.php?file=EvernoteMac

Let me know if you still experience the freezes. If so, perhaps you could describe the situation that led to the freezes? Were you using multiple Evernote windows? etc

Jack,