(Archived) HELP: What actions will create a conflicting note?

mrgoerend

Idea

My colleagues has never been able to update on of my notes in our shared notebook. Every time she gets a "conflicting" error.

Is there a list somewhere of what actions will create that conflict? For example, if I have a specific note open in my desktop client and she updates that same note, does that create a conflict?

2 replies to this idea

I have zero experience with shared notebooks but these two forum posts from '09, and no longer accessible, were the best explanation of conflicting notes and syncronization I'd seen. I don't know if it really speaks to your issue, but I'll toss it in for the taking:

------------------------------------------

Re: Conflicting Changes -- documentation for

by engberg on Tue May 05, 2009 11:16 am

If a note is changed in the server from another client (or from the web "client") before you sync changes from your PC, then the client will notice that the version on the server is more recent than the last time it synchronized. These changes can be large (editing the text of the note) or relatively small (adding a tag to that note).

When a client notices that the server's copy of the note has been changed too recently, it will pull down the "current" version from the server and move your local conflicting note into the local "Conflicting..." notebook so you don't lose your changes. You can then discard the conflict notebook whenever you want, or you could decide to keep the local version and discard the one on the server by moving it back to its original location.

- Dave Engberg (Evernote)

engberg

Staff Posts: 5901Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:43 pmLocation: Mountain View, CA

-------------------------------------------

Re: synchronization

by engberg on Fri May 15, 2009 7:44 pm