Book Scanning

tiredofpaper

Hi, I'm fairly new to Evernote, but so many people I know are using it so it's time to join the club.

I was curious has anyone scanned in their entire library of books yet?

I was wondering if anyone had any tips on scanning their entire library of books and if they regret doing it or feel that it's better or not. I probably have about 100 books and I feel it's time to go all digital. I've been trying to create a paperless lifestyle and Evernote seems very awesome for this. Many people on here seem like they've been looking into this for a while. I scanned some old books at this place http://1dollarscan.com/ and was considering doing them all there.

Any tips are greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

• Level 5*

i am working through my library. i've done over a thousand and i can say it has definitely been worth it. i'd never have done it without the ipad, which makes access to everything so easy. i've got to be able to read in bed (and on the train, plane, etc.), or there is no point. the retina display makes it so nice, too :)

good luck with the project!

Another option is to get the ebook version, if one exists. Although that can be a bit more costly, it's a lot faster than doing your own scanning. I have an affinity to hard copies of cookbooks. But for all other books, for the past couple of years, I've always bought ebooks.

• Level 5*

ebooks are great. i buy them when i can. but, for better or for worse:

1. the books i read are prohibitively expensive or unavailable. the book publishing industry is making it very difficult for academics. it is usually about the same price to purchase it yourself new and scan it, or less if you get it used, and it is definitely better not to have to spend 30-100 dollars again on a book.

2. you get the page numbers if you scan (.mobi files are sometimes inaccurate, if you get the page numbers at all).