(Archived) HOWTO: Tags and completed tasks

Hi all,

I've set up two workbooks: "Tasks" and "Completed Tasks". I use a number of tags to sort my tasks, and want to use the number referenced next to the tags to know how many of those particular tags I have left to process. When a task is complete, I move it to the "Completed Tasks" workbook.

The problem is, the number against the tags doesn't change.

Is there any way I can perform this kind of action, and when a task is moved to a completed workbook, the tag count changes?

I'm a newbie, so appreciate that I may have missed something glaringly obvious. Please go easy on me.

Thanks,

Adam

Tags and notebooks are independent of each other.

you can do a manual search for Notebook:tasks, tag:[some tasks] to see number of active tasks. And Notebook:completed tasks, tag:[some tasks] to see number of completed tasks.

You can save those searches and add them to bookmarks bar for easy access but it still won't be as convenient as what you want to get.

You don't even need to use separate notebooks at all btw, they're just adding confusion, you can replace them with tags as well, i.e. instead of Notebook "completed tasks" and "tasks" you can just use tags "active" and "completed"

You need to actually remove/change the tag from a note to change the number of notes associated with the tag (which makes sense).

The easiest option would be to just delete notes with completed actions or just tag them differently/remove tags. You can remove the tag but still keep it as a word in the note itself if it's useful information.

• Level 5

In the Windows Evernote client, I use the checkbox to manage tasks.

To create a checkbox in the note,

Ctrl + Shft + C

To see open tasks:

Left Panel

>Attributes >Contains >Unfinished-to-do items

To see completed tasks:

Left Panel

>Attributes >Contains >Finished-to-do items

As May pointed out above, no need to move the completed note to a different notebook.