(Archived) Adding Citations to Evernote

Mouse

Idea

5 replies to this idea

• Level 5*

there is no footnote feature (is this what you mean by citation?). i don't think evernote is well-equipped for word processing at the level of a graduate school paper. it is great, however, for collecting notes and research. i made a post in the forumsomewhere about the topic.

anyways, i have a master bibliography list, notes that contain only the sources (pdfs of journals or photographs of manuscripts) and notes that contain my comments on the sources along with links to the relevant source note. i make separate bibliographies for each project based off the master list.

if you want true bibliography/footnote integration, though, try bookends or senta. they are made for that.

• Level 5*

Agree, we're probably not going to be full fledged enough for many of your uses if you're going to write a graduate school paper.

i'd like to say again, though, that evernote is invaluable for collecting everything you need to write. i don't know what i'd do without it.

• Level 5*

How about using the note linking facility to save your citation in a new note and link to it back in your paper?

Good advice about linking, but I am not clear about what you mean with the link to the paper. I am also not exactly sure what the op had in mind. I can only say what I do. I have three relevant notes here:

1. Source. This note is titled with the author and date "monkeygrumpy2011" (a rare exception to my standard yymmdd keyword format), and it contains the bibliographic reference at the top in CMS format, followed by the source itself (usually a PDF).