Programming Lifestyle

I'm a C++/Java programmer daily using EN in my workplace since 2008.

From technical notes to reports, from customers requests to benchmarks, my EN is part of my developping process.

Coupled to Outlook (for incoming emails) and Producteev for my GTD, EN is my essential repository for my brain.

If I share my notes with my colleagues, exclusivly by email, my big challenge is to show them how powerfull is EN for storing and sharing information.

I'm also involved in project for introducing EN in a classroom.

I'm also active on G+ through GTD and Evernote circles, on which you can find other well known fan of EN like Daniel Gold, Bobby Travis or Pierre Journel

(https://plus.google.com/#s/evernote)

So, if anyone as questions on how using EN in a development area...

Phil

• 2 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

I'm also a developer, and a new Evernote user. I've been using Evernote for project ideas, especially when I'm away from the PC. Whenever I come up with a good idea, I add it to my Project notebook using Evernote for Android, then flesh it out later on the PC with a list of features, tag it with the language(s) I'll be using, and maybe add a Balsamiq Mockup. Once I finish the project, I add a screenshot of the final product, a link to its GitHub page, and move the note to a separate notebook for completed projects. It's nothing fancy, but I've found it much more useful then keeping a pocket notebook or todo list on my phone.

I used to use Google Notebook for storing code snippets back in the day, but it was eventually shut down. I was never able to find anything quite as good as GN for that purpose and fell out of the habit, but Evernote looks like it could really suit the job.

• 3 months later...