Comics and Evernote

I'm an artist who does comics. My present project, "Decrypting Rita", is a very digital-native comic; it's designed mostly for the iPad screen, and I'm using Evernote as much as I use physical sketchbooks to keep track of things.

I have a notebook for the comic, of course. Within this notebook I keep a few things: I've got a few notes with model sheets in them, there's a couple of text notes, and there's a note full of images for each comic.

When I'm working on the comic, sometimes I'll use reference in other windows and hammer the Exposé key to check it out. But other times I just pull out my iPad and use that for referring to a character model or to a previous page.

A lot of my process happens in Illustrator. Most of the dialogue gets written as I'm laying out the panels, and refined over the course of the page. I'm a sole creator so I really don't feel a need to write all of this stuff out ahead of time. But Evernote's one of the ways I capture my random thoughts about what's happening on a longer range. I've got notes with fragments of dialogue for upcoming pages, I've got a note full of random thoughts like "Rita should totally do the jet grind* thing at some point".

Not everything lives there. I haven't found a drawing app I really like on the iPad so I'm more prone to do visual notes by just pulling out a sketchbook and drawing, and I'm not married enough to Evernote yet that I reflexively photograph those. (Though now that I think about it...)

I've also been playing with a proposal for a story set in the land of Oz; that's pretty much entirely text, and has ended up living entirely in Evernote so far. When I get seriously moving on it I'm sure I'll adopt the same workflow I have for 'Rita'.