(Archived) Effective use of tags

I'm new to Evernote and I am wondering if anyone can tell me how to effectively use tags? I have never used tags before. Why not, for example, just place my keyword in the title of my saved note? Wouldn't this be the same as using a tag? Thanks for any help.

• Level 5*

hi todd. welcome to evernote!

there are three ways to sort things. the first one, naming, you have already thought about. i use a date + large->small information method. so, a note today might look like this: "111029 pending book orders" or "111029 receipt 79" plasma tv". putting the date on there sorts everything automatically in chronological order. sometimes you might remake a note, or combine them, and this will change the note "creation" date, so this is a handy way to keep things straight. i think it pays to be consistent with naming, whatever method you choose.

there are notebooks. this places notes in a certain location, instead of just leaving them floating around with all of the other notes. doing this is a good idea if you want to have the notes available offline, but otherwise, i suggest weaning yourself off of them if you have an addiction. they create a false sense of organizational omnipotence. if you have tagged well, there is no need to create a complicated folder tree and waste your time there.

tags are brilliant. think about taking all of the papers, files, tax returns, and other loose papers in your house, tossing them on the living room floor and still being able to go through them and find whatever you want in a few seconds. you could spend years dumping things into that pile, spending almost no time at all to organize it, and still be organized. pretty cool. the easiest way to get started is to take the names of the folders you have and just stick those to each note. over time, you'll probably develop a more refined system. you can always change the tag names.