(Archived) OCR not working

dea8

Idea

I am relatively new to Evernote. I am having a problem with some of my PDFs not being searchable. I uploaded 2 pdfs on November 30th and they are still not searchable. I have seen comments on the forum that suggest that sometimes it can take 8 hours or so but over a week? Anyone else have this problem?

21 replies to this idea

Huh? If I search ONLY on OCR, with no sub forums & no specified author & skip over the first few entries (that are from this thread), I get the "OCR totally broken" thread. So I'm not sure why you think I distorted anything. That's a very general search. Results are sorted by posting date with most current first. So yeah, there may be 38 pages of results...but just like with Google, the first ones are probably the most relevant/current.

The reason I used the term distorted is you only selected the most recent thread.

Sure, sometimes you get lucky and the results coincide with what you are looking for. That is when "the search function is your

I'm really not sure where you're going with this. In this case, one can do a general search (as shown above) & the first thread (excluding the one created by OP, which really doesn't count) answers OP's question. Your point about it being the most recent one is, IMO, a valid point b/c an answer from Dave two years ago on a particular topic may not be appropriate for the same question last week. So most recent thread is a good thing, IMO & that's what I go for.

If your point is this doesn't always work, fine. Yes, that's true. But not in this case. The answer was on page 1. I wasn't throwing up some obscure post from three years ago that showed up on page 56 when when searching on OCR.

And that's all I have to say on this. :(

So once an PDF (stipulated not searchable to begin with) is added to Evernote, Evernote does an OCR, and when that happens, the user can right-click and save a searchable version.