New to Evernote: What to do with my existing notes and info?

I am new to Evernote and I'm wondering what is a good way to begin. I have lots of notes and info, mostly in Word docs and PDFs.

Do I somehow bring those entire documents into EN or do I need to copy the contents of those documents and paste as notes into EN?

Suggestions appreciated!

• Level 5*
16 hours ago, Goes_to_11 said:

I am new to Evernote and I'm wondering what is a good way to begin. I have lots of notes and info, mostly in Word docs and PDFs.

Evernote notes contain text content (enml/html format)
and also files of any format, like Word Docs and PDFs

>>Do I somehow bring those entire documents into EN or do I need to copy the contents of those documents and paste as notes into EN?

You bring  the entire document into EN
Drag the files into an existing note, or import folder (Win/Mac)

Most of my notes contain files like this.

• Like 1
  • Level 5*
15 hours ago, Goes_to_11 said:

Do I somehow bring those entire documents into EN or do I need to copy the contents of those documents and paste as notes into EN?

Suggestions appreciated!

Since you are a premium member you should import the documents so that they will be searchable.  You can bulk import them if you like by creating an import folder via Tools - Import Folders.  Then you can copy/paste or move the files into that folder and a note will be created for each document.  The note title will become the name of the document, word or pdf.

Once you are comfortable the documents are in EN you can delete the originals if you like (I would).  Good luck.

• Like 1

I see that when I bring a Word doc (for example) into EN, it's still a Word doc (as opposed to the content as if I had copied and pasted into EN). That makes sense - the formatting is kept intact.

Q1. Are there any disadvantages of retaining the content in its Word doc form?

Q2. Can you think of any situation when it would make more sense to bring in the content only?

• Level 5*