Why Evernote Still Leads the Pack - For Me Anyway

It's that time of year where my subscription is close to expiring, and as useful as the app is -- the $90 CAD price tag is a little hard to swallow. I know, $90 to store all your useful data and keep you on track is not a huge burden, but when compared to MS Office that I just spent $80 on with multiple services, it seems a tad high.

I have to admit, I've been an EN user for years, but I typically start a new account with one of their "new account" promo codes to avoid paying full price, so that's why it looks like I'm a newb....but I digress.

As I looked at alternatives this morning I came across a note in Evernote that I created the last time I was eyeing alternatives. This one specifically was regarding OneNote and it's limitations as I saw them; No single sync button for all notes, annotations that aren't attached to the documents they markup, no great tags, less local storage on iPhone etc.

I then considered Bear (which is pretty good), and Apple's own Notes app since I'm paying for iCloud storage anyway. The trouble with both of these is, my work computer is a PC so web clipping is out from that device, and easily getting stuff into either from my Windows computer is a pain.

Evernote has clients for all my devices, great tagging, a great web clipper, the best annotation functions, and an easy way to get notes in and out - I'm not locked into it like I would be with Apple's Notes app.

So I guess I just came here to say that I think EN is still the best, most functional notes app - at least for my use case. With the changes on the horizon to the editor and to make feature parity more a priority across environments I actually shelled out the full pop for my subscription.

Happy Evernoting.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 2
  • Level 5*
1 hour ago, TheDBar said:

at least for my use case

For my use case, I view Evernote as a digital filing cabinet for my notes/documents.