Combined Text and Handwriting

Hi there, 

I'm a teacher and have a Class fully equipped with 2in1 Windows 10 convertible laptops. Pupils also have active pens to write on them. 

We are using OneNote 2016 because of the possibility to import a PDF to a site and just write on it or next to it with the pen. Also the offline/local file storage is forced by our laws. 

In Evernote for Windows I only found to choose either a handwritten note or a normal note. 

Is there a way to get this functionality or is there a chance Evernote will combine these two note types in future versions for windows? 

I would like to change to Evernote then. 

• Level 5*

Hi.  We're a mainly user-supported Forum

Evernote is currently working on updating and upgrading its editor,  though they haven't shared any details of their planned improvements.  At present mixed typed/ handwritten notes are not possible except by using third party applications or including images of handwritten sections in otherwise typed text.  If you open a dialogue direct with Evernote via Twitter at @EvernoteHelps or maybe chat with some of the others in Education here: https://discussion.evernote.com/forum/244-education/ you may be able to get some suggestions... 

• Level 5

With the iOS app it is possible to annotate an imported pdf using apple pencil, and save it back again.

With the possibilities of the Windows mobile / convertibles I am not familiar. But I think that annotating a pdf with the pen should be possible there as well.

EN itself will not allow to mix text and handwriting into one single note. What can be done is making one note with the text and attachments, and a link to a second note, containing handwriting.

But to be honest this is one field where OneNote is probably better suited.