I'm trying Evernote as a replacement for OneNote. I have imported some of my OneNote notebooks (a feature i love! Hard to find other programs that will import Onenote files).

I would be using Evernote offline and locally. i am an author/publisher/artist and i deal with many thousands of files in every form. I need to keep track of all my data, but i have no need or desire to have anything in the cloud. I understand that's LOCAL files, then. I'm not sure yet if i need any online features. Anyway, i can't seem to find where i make sure my files get backed up, if not using the cloud. i have a folder set up on my external hard drive for Evernote, and i want to back up any changes there.

I also don't want to keep getting the message that I've reached my limit--are the onenote files being imported local, or are they considered online? Still confused about this aspect.

• Level 5*

Hi.  If you're using Evernote mainly offline,  you won't have any usage limits to worry about,  but you also don't have any backup for your data,  other than services you arrange for yourself.  Evernote files are stored on the hard drive of your device - if they're corrupted or the disk fails,  you lose your data,  so most of us experienced users have a backup schedule even though for 'online' users there's also the Note History feature and the Server copy of your database.  You won't have access to your data anywhere else other than on that device.

NB Evernote doesn't like removable (i.e. external) disk storage for the database folder - if it's not connected to the device when you boot up,  you may have problems.

Make sure you are using local notebooks,  but you'll need to keep a couple of notes in the cloud - just so Evernote knows your account is alive,  and can allow you to log in and out.

• Level 5*
On 7/20/2019 at 10:26 AM, KelliJaeBaeli said:

i can't seem to find where i make sure my files get backed up, if not using the cloud.