Can't figure out PC user interface - help needed

Complete newbie to Evernotes, but I'm an experienced IT guy, and I'm completely baffled by this Windows PC interface!!

I'm trying to structure my notes, such as 

A Note of - My Notes
Two  Notebooks under My Notes
1. Table Tennis Players
2. Table Tennis Tactics

How does the functionality work on this Notes screen: (screenshot 1)

1. What is the meaning of 'the Location heading
2. Am I editing a Note or Notebook.
3. What does the Tag drop down list do, nothing happens when I use it to change notebooks
4. If a Note, how do I edit a Notebook.
5. When I click on 'Notebook's (left menu) and then double click on the first notebook, I get the editing window, but on the second notebook, the editing window does not appear, instead I get a message 'No Matching Notes found' (Screenshot 2)
6. How do I match a Notebook to a Note allowing me to edit that 2nd Notebook, I don't see any options, and dragging and dropping doesn't work.

I've looked through the help notes, but I'm unable to find any of this basic navigation stuff.

Do I really need a Note? I only require the two Notebooks

Thanks for any help

Capture.thumb.JPG.4d707fd3d2949c808425990f960a5545.JPGCapture.JPG.9f96e33b06bcac7475b0aa9a797fa5f7.JPG

• 2 weeks later...
  • Level 5*

Hi.  This is a -mainly- user-supported forum,  hence the delay in responding.  We're not set up to give you an in depth introduction,  but there should have been a series of emails after your registration as a user to step you through creating some basic notes,  and this page has more.  Check YouTube for a lot of visual material too...

• Level 5*
On 6/19/2019 at 3:09 AM, bernieraffe said:

Do I really need a Note? I only require the two Notebooks

Yes, Notes are the main storage unit in Evernote: think of a physical note or document 
Notebooks and Tags are just two metadata fields assigned to a note for organization