Jump to content
Shane D.

Where is the undo feature?

Recommended Posts

Hi All,

This is one of our most frequently asked questions and previous posts contained a lot of outdated information so I wanted to provide a refreshed answer.

If you're trying to undo an action/typo you can 'undo' by doing the following:
 

  • EN-Windows: Ctrl + Z
  • EN-Mac: Command + Z
  • EN- iOS: Shake device to receive 'Undo' prompt
  • EN-Android: Tap 'Back' (curved arrow) button from the menu bar above the note
  • EN-Web Client: Ctrl+Z if using Windows, Command+Z if using Mac

 

If you're trying to recover a deleted note, check the Evernote Trash and restore it.

If you're trying to recover a previous version of a note, check the 'Note History'

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 2

Share this post


Link to post
On 1/3/2019 at 2:44 PM, Shane D. said:

Hi All,

This is one of our most frequently asked questions and previous posts contained a lot of outdated information so I wanted to provide a refreshed answer.

If you're trying to undo an action/typo you can 'undo' by doing the following:
 

  • EN-Windows: Ctrl + Z
  • EN-Mac: Command + Z
  • EN- iOS: Shake device to receive 'Undo' prompt
  • EN-Android: Tap 'Back' (curved arrow) button from the menu bar above the note
  • EN-Web Client: Ctrl+Z if using Windows, Command+Z if using Mac

 

If you're trying to recover a deleted note, check the Evernote Trash and restore it.

If you're trying to recover a previous version of a note, check the 'Note History'

Hi Shane, I was just told by your Chat team that there is no undo for tag changes. Is that correct information?

If so, I have started a feature request post here, because we need some work around for this.

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post

The undo command does revert like desired.  However,  if I undo all changes since last sync, the note is still marked as updated and will be sync'd when I sync next and that results in the date updated to change.  It is a common user mistake to pull up the wrong note, make changes, realize its the wrong note, undo changes.  In this case, I want the original update time, that is, I dont want a note to sync if there are no material changes to the note.  Is there an option for that?

I am using WINDOWS client at the moment but also notice this with MAC client.

Share this post


Link to post
1 hour ago, M Mandl said:

I want the original update time, that is, I dont want a note to sync if there are no material changes to the note.  Is there an option for that?

The only option is to manually edit the update date/time

Share this post


Link to post

Thanks for the information, I was not aware that I could change the update time - that will suffice for short term.  However,  I wont realize I am making a mistake until it happens and so will most likely not be paying attention to the update time on the note.  Therefore, I believe a change in behavior such that notes are not marked as modified when all changes have been reverted/undone would be best.  That seems like a consistent and sound operational behavior that all users would find useful and all software products I recall operate. Can I suggest that change for a future version?

-Mike

Share this post


Link to post

If you want to propose a feature or modification, this can be done in the Feature Requests section of the forum. Other users are able to support it by voting.

Share this post


Link to post

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...