Systematic Management of Tags, hierarchical organization of Tags

I'd like to learn from others how they use tags.  I've used them for years but am dissatisfied with my approach. My clipped notes are for a book I"m writing. 

Can you describe any key successes you have had with tags?  I'd appreciate your insights, methods, successes.

Do you have some process you follow systematically with tags to organize your Notes? 

My tagging "system" is an evolving and chaotic work in progress. I started to organize them hierarchically long ago but "stalled" finishing it. 

Oh!  And, can tags be printed?  Can they be exported for printing?

• Level 5*

My system is simple: tag descriptively. Tags form a mini vocabulary. Notes live in that vocabulary, just as objects live in the world that we describe with words. Some part of my world (e.g. work) need more rigorous organization (I'm a programmer, so: release numbers, functional areas of the software, etc.), and tags give me the flexibility to do that. Other parts of my life are looser. At some point, I reached an place where I don't need to add tags very often any more (except for work: release numbers keep going up).

The main thing for me is to keep things simple: spend time organizing notes, not tags. I do use the tag hierarchy to keep tag clutter down, but I don't use it to navigate my notes. Most of the time, tag location in the tag tree is irrelevant to my day to day usage; once in a while I'll go in and clean up a bit.

The beauty is that tags are flexible enough to accommodate many uses, and I'm sure that you'll hear from folks who have highly organized systems that work for them. What you need to do is find a system that works for you. And for others to make better suggestions, it would be helpful if you described in more detail what you are trying to do.

• Level 5*

1. I organize my tags in structures; using both naming standards and the hierarchy feature (Windows/Mac)