Having an impossible time deciding how to organize my notes

estevancarlos

I find that I've had an easier time proposing taxonomic structures for clients' projects than my own.

I don't have questions about notebooks vs tags. I understand the difference. I am confused on the best strategy based on my needs. I am an adjunct professor who teaches a range of courses periodically. As such I engage in research and notes for these different courses. Let's say it's about three different subjects. In addition to teaching I work independently and need to do planning and take notes for different clients I have at different times. I provide design and web development services for these clients.

At this point I'm dealing with overlapping subjects each other their own niche and specific details. However there is overlap with these subjects. I teach a painting course that deals with the fundamentals of color and visual concepts. It overlaps with a programming course that teaches the same concepts. I will engage in research regarding color theory that connects to both subjects. In situations like this, flat structured tags are useful because they can describe content that falls under digital painting or a specific programming course. The problem I have is that I don't want to continue having tons of flat-structured tags because then eventually I have so many loose tags describing lots of content. I need fewer tags that are more inclusive.

If I want fewer tags that describe MORE content then it means I need to plan my tags and reuse them effectively. I teach digital painting (arts and science), electronics (science), web development (art and science), and creative coding (art and science). These subjects overlap in varying ways. This means I should not create hierarchical tags--they should remain flat.